Smooth Flyovers?

I am very new to the app but I am wondering how to do a smooth flyover focused on a single POI? It seems really jerky and the subject is out of frame while the camera flys by and goes from forward heading to reverse heading. If that makes any sense at all. I can include a virtual mission of the step I am trying to accomplish.

1 Like

When planning the Litchi flight using the Mission Hub try creating all turns with gradual curvature, so there are as few abrupt changes in direction as possible. Set up a test flight with the point of interest at the center of a wide circle to see how the footage compares with what you’re currently seeing.

Hi Edward,

Yes, “fly overs” are tricky if you want to stay focused on the thing you want to fly over without having the drone spin around as soon as it passes that thing.

Assuming that you have a POI positioned on the thing you want to fly over, try adding another POI beyond that thing. Then, add an additional waypoint, again beyond your fly over POI.

If I totally miss-interpreted your question, I may need to see your mission.

Thats kind of what i was thinking, it is a straight line flyover when I initialy planned the waypoints I only have 2 as it is nearing the POI so adding a bunch more focused on that same POI and maybe slowing the AC down could potentially help. Thanks for confirming my thoughgts. Ill let you know how it goes.

I’ve been unable to get Litchi to follow a POI smoothly even with a simple circular orbit of a spot.
Example: Circling a small, foggy island at Lillydale Lake - YouTube (4x speed)

Here’s what the DJI Fly app does for circling a POI (also sped up) - smooth as glass - Orbit 5-way Mooroolbark intersection - DJI Fly app version - YouTube

Might be worth comparing the same videos

Your second video is a hyperlapse made of photos, and the stabilization effect is also applied on it.

I would suggest flying the first one slower and maybe a bigger radius