Mavic air on a jetski using Iphone

Hi there
I’m a Litchi Newbie.
I’m trying to use my Mavic Air to record footage on my jetski and figured that the Follow function on Litchi would be good for that. I’ve got a couple of questions

1. Rather than using the dynamic homepoint function I would like to use a fixed point so that the drone returns to that point when it’s out of power/ loses signal. It’s really hard to catch a drone on a jetski. Would using a fixed home point give me any problems

2. Is there anyway I can use the Iphone without a controller attached ? You can do that with the mavic air using DJI but I’m struggling to see any way to do it on Litchi.

3. Any other hints and tips for using Litchi over water ?

Spark, Phantom 3 Standard, Mavic Air/Pro drones that can only be used with a phone

You don’t have enough drone speed to chase

The problem is that you don’t have enough range to fly the drone.

I think you’re better off using magic leash for this. And your friend to control the drone. But only for android

@David_Ness

1. Fixed Home Point should not give any problems. The aircarft will behave the same way as using the DJI-GO4 App.

2. During Follow Mode the aircraft follows the GPS location of your phone. This location is constantly transmitted to the drone. Since you don’t have the Enhanced Wi-Fi of the crontroller, chances are the drone will loose you much quicker AND Loss of control signal will occur much quicker in which case the aircraft will return to the Home Point.
    Theoretically it should work.

3. The downward sensors don’t work well while flying over water (Page 18 in the Mavic Air User Manual).

Controlling the Aircraft with a Mobile Device:
Page 44 in the Mavic Air User Manual

Switching (linking) to Remote controller:
Page 39 in the Mavic Air User Manual

Did you try Active Track in the GO4 App ?

Mavic Air User Manual Download Page:

2 Likes

Thanks for these points.